Movies: Revealing Positive Aspects of Globalization

by

I stood timidly at the counter of the teashop bustling with people waiting for someone who might be able to understand me. Suddenly, a handsome waiter appeared. I stammered while attempting to place my order in a silly-sounding hybrid of Spanish and English. He looked as if he was trying to suppress a smile as he allowed me to struggle for several more moments. When I finally stopped stammering, he repeated my order back to me in perfect English and asked if I would like anything else to go with it. I could feel my face flush and I was certain that I was the color of the red carpet. Not to mention the fact that my mouth was hanging open out of shock—I hadn’t heard anyone speak such perfected English out on the streets since I arrived in Morocco. After he left the other girls and I giggled while discussing how cute he was like we were fifteen years old. Later in the evening he returned to my table and we began to strike up a conversation. I asked him how he learned to speech English so well, and he told me that he was only able to take one year while in school, but he continued to practice by watching Western films. After he walked away I began thinking about what he said, and my perspective on movies change a little bit.

The next day I walked past the local movie theater, and instead of viewing it as corruptive, I thought of it as an exciting social setting for the Moroccan people and more importantly, a place that was somewhat educational. Later that day I stumbled across a video store displaying films staring Arab actors and actresses. Although the film posters were similar to ours in America, they portrayed Islamic people and culture instead. I’m sure that the films are heavily influenced by Hollywood and American culture, however they have put their own spin on the films they have created. The presence of films that emphasizes Moroccan society can bring the community pride and joy.

American films can be positive as well because they allow people who cannot receive a formal education the opportunity to learn English. I also had the chance to meet with several university students, and I asked them if it was easy to find people to practice their English with in Morocco. Surprisingly, they also said that the best way for them to practice their English was by watching American movies. They told me that going to the theater is a very common activity for young people in Morocco, and that sometimes they might go as many as 5 or 6 times in a weekend because the theater is such a cheep form of entertainment. From the information I received from the Moroccan people that I meant I realized that Hollywood benefited the Moroccan people in many ways. Films bring the community together, allowing the people to celebrate their own celebrities and culture, as well as providing them with an educational experience.

 Image

Leave a Reply

