Reconciliation

by

Something my professor has said several times on this trip resonates with me: “How can you love your neighbor if you don’t take time to her their story?” This question echoed in my mind as I walked through the Granada Cathedral.

When I look back at my pictures of the Cathedral, I sit in awe of its epic arches, intricate paintings, and vast sanctuary, but when I remember walking through the cathedral, I tense up and wonder what I could’ve eaten that that would upset my stomach. Looking at the pictures, I focus primarily on the cathedral’s beauty. Walking through the cathedral, I focus primarily on its history.

After Queen Isabella led the Christian empire in overtaking Moorish control of Southern Spain, she ordered the mosque in the center of Granada torn down and replaced with a cathedral. The walls are full of paintings of Christian saints whose ghosts supposedly joined the Spanish army in defeating the Moors. The Spanish had no regard for the Moorish story. All they thought of was slaughter and gaining land.

Outside the Cathedral, however, there is one part of the old mosque that remains: a well. I don’t know why the Spanish allowed this well to remain, but I do know why the well is significant to me. The well is a central place of reconciliation in Jesus’ life. It’s there that he sits down with a woman from a different culture, a different gender, and a  different moral code(John writes about it in the 4th chapter of His gospel). Jesus values the woman enough to know her story, and He uses that knowledge to point her toward a water that satisfies. He acknowledges their differences, but also acknowledges that each of their identity is tied to being a loved child of God, and because of this, He is able to point her to truth.

Today, as we engage with a changing world, we have to decide which way to walk down: the conquest or the well.

 

Leave a Reply

