Reconciliation

by

If someone would have told me a year ago that on 9/11 I would be staying and studying in a Muslim country, I am not sure I would have believed them. However while in Morocco, on a day engraved in America’s history as a day the Muslim world attacked America, I felt at peace and completely safe. Not once during my time there did I feel threatened or endangered. So I have to wonder why, in America, we have this idea that the Islamic world is unsafe. I suppose it goes back to 9/11. We as a people cannot get past this one act of terrorism. However I now see that there is so much more to this religion and this people group. While abroad we got the opportunity to meet with an Imam and learn more about Islam. While sitting in his home and being served tea and cake I felt a great sense of unity and affection toward this small group of men. We did not do much beyond having tea together and a short question and answer time, and yet I felt such a sense of reconciliation. I realized that they are not so different from us and we are not so different from them.

Leave a Reply

