This I Choose to Believe

by

“I pray you all will find the truth.”

 Boom. Instantly, his words made sense to me. He knew the truth, we did not and he wasn’t afraid to express his belief that we had not yet found the truth. To have not yet found the truth, is to be wrong. The Imam’s humility, mild-manner and eloquence, up until the time that sentence was spoken, had overwhelmed the room enough to have us entranced by the tolerance, acceptance and love that we felt during our stay. The attractiveness of acceptance can blind us from the very words being spoken. The imam did not say, “I hope you find a truth that resonates with you, as I have found a truth that does so with me.” Truth, in itself is not relative. Without care invested in our departure, danger may present itself. We were near dropping what we knew to be the truth of the gospel, the word, living and active at the sight of a community that without the example of Christ’s love seems to better love the fellow Muslim, the stranger, and the beggar. The Imam was not in fact, the tolerant, and Universalist that we had deemed him to be. Rather, the Imam was loving enough to share with others and desire for others what he wanted for himself.

 Stepping out the door of his home, I inhaled my last whiff of sweet dates and the taste of unwanted milk lingered in my mouth as I smiled and waved goodbye from the street. My journal was soon filled with scribbles of confusion and disappointment. I was disappointed that the worst people I’d come into contact with over the course of my life were Christians. I was disappointed that I’d never loved in the way I had just experienced love. I was disappointed in how attractive Islam can be even to those who have experienced the pleasures of Christ Jesus. I choose to no longer be disappointed. I choose to incorporate the humility and hospitality that the Immam introduced us to into my daily way of living, while being certain of my experiences with Jesus and willing to profess them as truth.

 I pray that they too will find the truth.

 

 

 

